Bits and Pieces

I have never written a blog before, but it seems so fitting since I love to share my story with others. Hello, I’m Christella and writing is a forever passion of mine. Even when I tried to run from it long ago, somehow I came home to it and it was there waiting for me. I was originally a psychology major in college. I was sure that was the route I wanted to go since I loved helping people with their lives. After my first psychology class, I realized it wasn’t for me at all. I also failed English that year. I was frustrated because I thought I knew what I wanted to do, but it didn’t hit me. I took English a second time and failed again. This time, it made more sense. My professor failed me for “being too creative.” LITERALLY! She said my papers were too creatively written and instead of guiding me on how to be a better writer she failed me. That’s when I knew where I belonged. The Third English teacher I had took my gift as a writer and helped me to use it to my benefit when writing essays without making me feel like a failure. I have been a creative writing major ever since. If I didn’t have that professor to guide my field of energy, I wouldn’t have the skills and talents I do now. That is why I want to teach. So that I can find those students who carry fields of talent for writing and invest in their abilities. I look forward to teaching and making a difference in the lives I will encounter. There’s nothing in the world like it!

Peace and love,

Christella B.

One thought on “Bits and Pieces

  1. I love your #whyIteach story and I am sorry it took three times for someone to recognize your gifts and grow you as a writer. I hope you will post some of your creative writing with us and share some of your best strategies in class! I look forward to reading more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

